skip navigation

Coach Jabarry Makes Off the Block EIVA All-Decade Team

By Staff, 12/10/19, 12:00PM EST


Off the Block announces EIVA All-Decade Team

The top EIVA player from the decade are receiving an additional conference honor.

A nationwide voting committee selected 21 players to the EIVA All-Decade Team that Off the Block unveiled on Friday.

The EIVA All-Decade Team recognizes the top players to compete in the conference since the 2010 season. The EIVA during this 10-year span had a team advance to the NCAA Tournament semifinals six times.

Penn State, which won seven EIVA title this decade, led all schools with eight EIVA All-Decade Team selections. In addition, Princeton, George Mason and Saint Francis all had multiple All-Decade selections.

The voting committee for this All-Decade Team was comprised of EIVA coaches and national men’s volleyball media members.
The top 10 vote-getters made the First-Team All-Decade, while the next top 10 vote-getters earned Second-Team All-Decade honors. A tie in the voting resulted in 11 players making the Second-Team All Decade.

In order to ensure representation of all positions — libero, middle attacker, opposite, outside attacker and setter — the top-two vote-getters at each position were assured spots on the All-Decade Teams.

Off the Block is a national award winning website that launched in 2011 and is the nation’s leader in college men’s volleyball coverage.

Off the Block annually presents college men’s volleyball national awards to recognize outstanding individual performances in the sport. Along with the EIVA All-Decade Team, Off the Block will present the National All-Decade Team later this month.

EIVA First-Team All-Decade

Setter: Edgardo Goas, Penn State
Setter: Brian Negron, George Mason
Opposite/Middle attacker: George Huhmann, Princeton
Opposite: Cody Kessel, Princeton
Opposite: Jordan Varee, Saint Francis
Outside attacker: Aaron Russell, Penn State
Outside attacker: Jabarry Goodridge, NJIT
Outside attacker: Joe Sunder, Penn State
Middle attacker: Max Lipsitz, Penn State
Libero: Dennis Del Valle, Penn State

EIVA Second-Team All-Decade

Setter: Daniel Ford, Saint Francis
Setter: Taylor Hammond, Penn State
Opposite: Nick Goodell, Penn State
Opposite: Mark Jones, George Mason
Opposite: Hayden Wagner, George Mason
Outside attacker: Chris Nugent, Penn State
Outside attacker: DJ White, Harvard
Middle attacker: Junior Oboh, Princeton
LIbero: Johnny Gomez, George Mason
Libero: Josh Ayzenberg, Sacred Heart


Jabarry Goodridge, NJIT (2014-17)
Awards and honors:
 2017 Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Player of the Year, 2017 Second-Team All-American, 2017 Karch Kiraly Award finalist, 2017 First-Team All-EIVA, 2016 Uvaldo Acosta Memorial EIVA Co-Player of the Year, 2016 First-Team All-EIVA, 2015 Second-Team All-EIVA
Player bio: Goodridge not only became one of the first players in NJIT history to win the EIVA Player of the Year but won the award in back-to-back seasons. The outside attacker finished with 1,450 career kills and in his senior season was second in the nation averaging 4.43 kills per game, including having seven matches with at least 20 kills. Goodridge that season also led the EIVA with a 0.50 aces per game average and had a career-high .329 attack percentage. As a junior, Gooridge was third in the nation with a 4.38 kills per game average and was fourth in the conference with a .303 attack percentage.